COMMUNITY ACHIEVES: 2016-17

Community Achieves is a district-led initiative that supports the development of full-service community schools through infrastructure and technical assistance within a collective impact framework.

MNPS recognizes that our schools are an integral part of the community.  Reinforcing the link between parents, the community and schools will foster student success. Through Community Achieves, nineteen of our schools will become Community Schools – offering needed resources and support for parents, students, and the community. Each school will assess its needs and work with partners to offer programs focused on four key areas: College and Career Readiness, Family Engagement, Health and Wellness, and Social Services.

Examples of resources that will be available are Family Resource Centers, health clinics, after-school programs, recreation, and classes for adults. Learn more about the community school model.

The mission of Community Achieves is to design full-service community schools through a framework that strategically aligns resources to foster student success. The results focused partnership between parents, the community, and schools will personalize learning for students and lead to stronger families and healthier communities.

Each Community Achieves school has assessed its needs for the 2016-17 school year within four key areas: College and Career Readiness, Family Engagement, Health and Wellness, and Social Services.

Alignment Nashville, using our INVITATION TO PARTICIPATETM process, will help to engage partners to offer programs within those key areas that target the specific needs of Community Achieves schools.

Click a pillar below to learn more!

OR: Click here to view all schools’ strategic plans & asks!

College & Career Readiness

Students are actively involved in their learning, maintain academic success, and are prepared for post-secondary education and career.

Family Engagement

Families are actively engaged in children’s education through increased opportunities for involvement in school and community

Health & Wellness

Students are physically capable to enter and participate in school, and feel safe at school physically, socially, and emotionally

Social Services

Students’ basic needs of food & clothing are met, students & families have access to the range of public services relevant to their needs, and parents are actively involved in personal development

Community Achieves Alignment Team

Alison McArthur, MNPS Co-Chair, Metro Nashville Public Schools

Tom Ward, Community Co- Chair, Oasis Center

Stan Weber, United 4 Hope 

Marielle Cummings, Nashville After Zone Alliance

Michael McSurdy, Family and Children’s Services

Emily Nourse, Family and Children’s Services

Kristi Steel, Centerstone

Rodger Dinwiddie, STARS

Sarah Finney, PENCIL

Tara Lentz, Conexion Americas

Lori Shinton, Hands on Nashville

Kathy A. Gracey, Vanderbilt Institute for Medicine and Public Health

Lyn Hoyt, Tennessee Alliance to Reclaim Our Schools

Allison Barney, Nashville Public Library

Jennifer Bell, MNPS Experiential Learning

LaRhonda Magras, YWCA

Mark Lollis, Metro Public Health Department

Community Achieves Schools & Site Manager Contact Info for 2016-17

Antioch High Shannon Fitzpatrick shannon.fitzpatrick@mnps.org
Buena Vista Elementary Megan McGuire megan.mcguire@mnps.org
Cole Elementary Patty Tarquino patricia.tarquino@mnps.org
Creswell Arts Magnet Middle Courtney Artis courtney.artis@mnps.org
Dupont-Hadley Middle Mindy Feuerborn mindy.feuerborn@mnps.org
Glencliff High Jill Watral jill.watral@mnps.org
Gra-Mar Middle Joy Pillow-Jones joy.pillow-jones@mnps.org
Hunters Lane High Alane Shannon Alane.shannon@mnps.org
Inglewood Elementary Leigh Patton leigh.patton@mnps.org
Jere Baxter Middle Angelica Brooks-James angelica.brooks-james@mnps.org
Joelton Middle Kanetha Callahan kanetha.callahan@mnps.org
Madison Middle Sarah Finney sarah.finney@mnps.org
Maplewood High Ariell Tillman ariell.tillman@mnps.org
Margaret Allen Middle Earl Lattimore earl.lattimore@mnps.org
McKissack Middle Patrick Walker-Reese patrick.walker-reese@mnps.org
Napier Enhanced Option Elementary Whitney Slovick whitney.slovick@mnps.org
Pearl-Cohn High Tanzye Hill tanzye.hill@mnps.org
Stratford STEM Lower Campus (formerly Bailey) Audrey Holloman audrey.holloman@mnps.org
Tusculum Elementary Mary Guidry mary.guidry@mnps.org
Two Rivers Middle Nicole Vaughn Nicole.valentine@mnps.org
Whitsitt Elementary Chris Echegaray chris.echegaray@mnps.org
Wright Middle Jennifer DeWall jennifer.dewall@mnps.org