Alignment Nashville is pleased to announce the appointment of eight new members to its Board of Directors, to serve three-year terms beginning on July 1, 2018. Joining the Board of Directors are Mary Beard, Angela Goddard, Brian Hassett, Brian Moyer, Kent Oliver, Dave Rosenberg, Chris Schlueter, and Dr. Jewell Green Winn.

“We are so excited to welcome these outstanding leaders to the board. The breadth, depth, and diversity of their experience will strengthen our work of aligning community partners and resources to support Nashville’s students,” said Alignment Nashville President & CEO Melissa Jaggers. “All of them have proven through their service to Nashville to be champions for public education and each embodies the spirit of collaborative leadership – a guiding principle of Alignment’s work.”

  • Mary Beard is Senior HR Counsel for HCA, where she advises the Chief Human Resources Officer and his executive team on legal matters, including but not limited to, labor and employment, contracts, and healthcare. A graduate of Vanderbilt School of Law, Beard has served her profession as a former president of the Ben F. Jones Chapter of the National Bar Association, former chair of the Tennessee Judicial Nominating Committee, former co-chair of the Tennessee Bar Associations’ Labor and Employment Executive Council and the Racial and Ethnic Diversity Committee. She is a Fellow of the Memphis Bar Association and Tennessee Bar Association Young Lawyers Division and currently serves on the Board of Directors of Jobs for Tennessee Graduates and as Treasurer of the Napier-Looby Bar Association.
  • Angela Goddard serves as the Executive Director of the Joe C. Davis Foundation facilitating strategic grant making in the areas of education, healthcare and social services.  Prior to joining the Davis Foundation, Angela served in grants administration for the Turner/Dugas Family Foundations. Over the years, Angela has volunteered for many nonprofit organizations including The Junior League of Nashville, St. Luke’s Community House, Preston Taylor and others.  In 2013, Angela completed the Southeastern Council of Foundations’ Hull Fellowship program for rising philanthropic leaders.
  • Brian Hassett is President & CEO of the United Way of Metropolitan Nashville. He earned a Bachelor of Arts in Political Science from Niagara University and a Master of Public Administration from the University of Rhode Island and began his career as a United Way National Intern before advancing through several fundraising and marketing posts in Cleveland, Ohio and Richmond, Virginia. Since 1990, he has held President & CEO posts of multiple United Way organizations in Central Massachusetts, Valley of the Sun in Arizona, Metropolitan Chicago, and Greater Capital Region of New York. He was named President & CEO of United Way of Metropolitan Nashville in December of 2017.
  • Brian Moyer is President and CEO of the Nashville Technology Council (NTC), the largest technology trade association in Tennessee.  He has founded and grown multiple technology companies over the past 25 years. Brian is active in the Middle Tennessee community and sits on several community boards including the Lipscomb College of Computing and Technology Advancement Council, the Nashville Entrepreneur Center, Women in Technology of Tennessee, TechBridge Tennessee, the Nashville Chamber International Business Council and the HIMSS Tennessee Chapter.
  • Kent Oliver has served as Director of Nashville Public Library (NPL) in Nashville, Tennessee, since 2012. Under his leadership, the city’s public library has expanded several key partnerships and programs to promote early reading, adult literacy, STEM, and digital literacy. Kent has managed libraries in Kansas, Missouri, and Ohio. Just before taking leadership of NPL, he was Executive Director of the Stark County District Library in Canton, Ohio. In 2009, the library won a 2009 National Medal for Museum and Library Service under his tenure.
  • Dave Rosenberg, a Metro Schools parent and advocate, represents parts of Nashville’s greater Bellevue community on the Nashville-Davidson County Metropolitan Council. He serves as Chair of the Metro Council Education Committee. Rosenberg’s involvement in Nashville education issues has included advocacy for public education at the state and local levels and within Nashville’s schools. His two children attend Gower Elementary School, where Rosenberg has served on the PTO Executive Board as treasurer and vice president.
  • Chris Schlueter, Vice President of FirstBank, has over fifteen years of broad banking experience with concentrations in commercial banking, retail management, consumer real estate lending, and operations. Chris joined FirstBank in October 2013 and since that time has led the retail and commercial banking efforts of multiple Nashville area offices. Schlueter’s community-involved efforts have included serving on the advisory board for Glencliff High School, Chairman of the Business Marketing and IT Partnership Council, Chairman of the Sylvan Park Neighborhood Association and Chairman of the Young Bankers division of the Tennessee Bankers Association.
  • Dr. Jewell Green Winn has over thirty years of experience in education.  She provides leadership to the office of International Affairs at Tennessee State University as the Senior International Officer, Deputy Chief Diversity Officer and Assistant Professor in the Department of Educational Leadership. Dr. Winn is very active both nationally and locally, serving as a member of the Education Law Association, Forum on Education Abroad, and the National Association of Professional Women, the Nashville Chamber of Commerce Education Committee, the Pearl Cohn Academy High School Community Advisory Board and founding member of From the Heart International Education Foundation.

Alignment Nashville also expresses its gratitude for the dedicated service of four board members whose tenure has come to an end: Marc Hill of the Nashville Area Chamber of Commerce, Joanne Pulles of the HCA Foundation, Reverend Sonnye Dixon of Hobson United Methodist Church, and Kyle Brantley of SunTrust Bank (Young Leaders Council board intern).